Burris 33s vs vega yellow or whites

Ducar 212

I've found a good deal on a set of vega whites which I'd like to get, as well as a set of burris 33s. I was told the vega yellow was the best tire for grip on dirt tracks, I'm new to tires right now and I'm trying to make the right decision here. I'm running SBO and the power is alot to control, I need all the grip I can get. I've run a burris 33, and actually liked the tire, but some of my friends have said vega tires are better. Any input would be appreciated. I need to be able to put the power to the ground

First off, where are you running? While Vega is a great tire, it doesn't mean it will work everywhere. For example, a local track here unless the conditions are right, a yellow Vega will almost never work under race conditions. So tire choice is condition dependent, you can't just say one brand is the best. Also some places have a tire rule, assuming you don't. But, that could be an issue.

Give a little more information, and I'm sure someone will be able to point you in the right direction for that track.

If the track is conducive to a Vega Yellow, it'll be hard to compete with it. Either 33s pounded with prep or 11s might be decent alternatives. Hoosier also has their D30A and D20A which can compete on given tracks.
Still very hard to hang with a properly worked Vega Yellow when the track conditions support it.
Personally, I'd stay away from the Whites for now (at least until you get a better handle on working with Yellows.)

If you have any specific questions or want to get on a solid tire and prep program, give us a call at the shop.

-----
🏁Thanks and God bless,
Brian Carlson
Carlson Racing Engines
Vector Cutz
www.CarlsonMotorsports.com
Carlson Motorsports on Facebook
www.youtube.com
34 years of service to the karting industry ~ 1Cor 9:24
Linden, IN
765-339-4407
bcarlson@CarlsonMotorsports.com