Caster Camber Thoughts

AverageJoe

I just got an 02 shadow zx1 and was wonder if anyone could give me a good idea of how to set caster on it. Is it similar to a full size car in either way? If the top of the spindle is behind the bottom giving you more? Do you want more in the RF as opposed to the LF like a full size car? Do you want a lot of split? What will more or less split do to the handling of it? Does it cause any kind of excessive wear if the caster is too aggressive like camber would?

Thanks

If you read through the msquared files under the Chassis set up section of Dirt Oval racing it will get you going in the right direction. As I understand it, you do not want too much split. If the kart wants the split to increase excessively there is usually something else that you might want to correct first. I am new to the dirt oval scene and msquared and his chassis manual are a great pieces of info.

I just got an 02 shadow zx1 and was wonder if anyone could give me a good idea of how to set caster on it. Is it similar to a full size car in either way? If the top of the spindle is behind the bottom giving you more? Do you want more in the RF as opposed to the LF like a full size car? Do you want a lot of split? What will more or less split do to the handling of it? Does it cause any kind of excessive wear if the caster is too aggressive like camber would?

Thanks
Pretty much yes to all these questions.

What would a 8 and 10 split do? When I bought my impulse that's what it was set on by the guy it came from.

In general, closing the split up to 2* will speed up the rate of weight transfer from left to right. Are you running on a low grip track?