Evinrude 140 outboard

na2slow2

Way off topic, but my search on the net is going dry. I just replaced the water pump put it all together and started it up and the buzzer goes off after about 5 min. I have water coming out of the foots six little holes on both sides, the front, and the exhaust. Nothing is coming out of the two holes in the back at the top. I took the rubber hoses off of the head and water was pumping out of them on the back of the engine. Its a 78 evinrude 140 2 stroke that has not been used in atleast 10 years. Thanks Kevin

OK, why I asked is if it had some broken fingers I've seen them get lodged in the water jacket on the head and create a overheating problem.

So you had a overheating problem before you changed the impeller? I've seen people install a new impeller and not get the keyway in place.

I used to be a certified evinrude mechanic back in 1978 but to be honest I have not work on them since about 1980.

I think the next place I'd look is at the thermostat.

Take a look at this thread-
http://forums.iboats.com/forum/engi...3988-79-johnson-140-v4-thermostat-replacement

If you had a infrared temp gauge I'd try reading the head temp on each head to see if they are the same.

mine the water won't come out the 2 big holes in back much till its in the water and at speed.
The buzzer is off for 5 min then starts. how about turning key to on: wait 5 min and see if it buzz's.
Maybe take the temp senser out and check flow there.
is this on muffs?

Yes its on the mufs. Gotta fix the steering before I can put it in the water. Where is the thermostat located? I will check the head temps on both sides friday. It had mud dobbers in the past thats why my dad decided to tear it apart to make sure the pump was good it being so old. Thanks for the help I will let yall know what I find.

thermostats are in the housing the 2 hoses come out of on the lower rear of engine.
temp switch opens at 168-182 and closes at205-217 check with ohm meter.