Gx160 low end bog

Bellinger

I'm new to go kart racing. I built a gx160 with a flat top piston, billet rod,14cc head,methanol carb that is bored,ported head,and a 356 cam. It bogs on the low end takes a half of a lap to get up to speed and starts pulling hard 3/4 way down the straight away. I'm running a 11t clutch and 71 rear gear. I'm going to try a 75 tooth rear but I'm thinking that I might have too big of a cam for the track size. 6250 is the highest rpm I got. A friend drove it and felt the low end bog but it performed better for him. I weigh around 260 and I have 100lbs on him. Looking for some sound advice besides loose weigh lol..

Bored 625 carb with .038 pilot and. 059 main. Stock looking carb not a slide carb. I know the gx160 is small but it's what I had laying around. Small oval dirt track. Running slicks I believe the chassis is a margay. I know very little about cart set up. Very new to this only raced the track once and when I asked for an idea for air pressure I was told they had air in their tires. Not a professional track or anything but in a guy's back yard for fun. Working on a good clutch so I can get 4000 engagement. I have a temp sensor on it most I saw was 210 for temperature I think I'm putting too much fuel to it was told I need to be around 300 on methanol

What front drivers and rear gears do you currently have? A 6.45 gear ratio seems pretty high. I don't run your engine package but we tend to try to keep our flatheads and animals around a 4.5 gear ratio. Only reason I referenced to these two engine packages is because we run methanol in those as well.

On Treads i ran an 11/85 modified flathead , bull ring track .
He said he was on slicks. Which makes me wonder if the engine is bogging because he may be gear bound. I have experienced this with an old straight rail invader kart with an lo206 before.