HELP !!!!! Clone Compression Problem

I just installed a Dyno CL-1 cam, new 10.8 valve springs & a PVL flywheel on a clone motor. Engine is extremely hard to turn over with the pull rope until it gets by the compression point. You can take the plug out and it spins freely. I have checked the valve lash twice and they are set at .003 at TDC cold. What in the world is going on here? Can anyone help, I'm new at the clone engine deal & trying to get the kart ready for the daughter to go to the track Saturday.

Thanks,

Chris

Dots lined up when I installed the camshaft. Is there another way to be 180 off? If it was a small block chevy I could fix it. LOL
Thanks,

Chris

Well back to square one

pull the plug out have valve cover off now roll motor over and look at the valves
open then close then open then close again.the best way is use a wooden dowel
or a long screw driver.place in spark plug hole roll motor over and watch it go
up then down while looking at the valve.then up again then down.then back up
with both valves closed.at that point roll it over just a hair more then set lash.
this will get you off the compression.intake in then close then fire the ex open
then close.

Done this before. I Set valve lash on the EZ spin cycle of the cam. Bout broke my arm when tried to start it. Modified man is on the money with procedure. Also the keyway on your clutch side (PTO) will be in line with your cylinder. That will get you close to TDC.