Kid kart setup

Clamanna32

I have a birel kid kart and we are running pavement oval. I want to start scaleing the kart. I just bought scales so I am new at this and using them. If there is any info on percentages and how to get them I would greatly apperciate any help I can get. Thank you in advance.

What we found is that you can knock yourself out with all sorts of scaling set-ups, but the bottom line is that the karts are so much slower than other classes and the restricted tire sizes and ridiculous air pressures, that you race, etc etc, will overcome even the best "set-ups." Put a good "baseline" set-up on the car and let the kid get comfortable. The more comfortable the driver is, the harder he will drive the car (THAT is the key to winning kid kart races.)

-----
Thanks and God bless,
Brian Carlson
Carlson Racing Engines
Vector Cuts
www.CarlsonMotorsports.com

Celebrating 25 years of service to the karting industry

765-339-4407
bcarlson@CarlsonMotorsports.com

I cring seeing a post like this, because It always concerns me Dad's all gung Ho how fast little Johnny can go when Little Johhny is no where ready to even thinking about going as fast as possible, Like Brian say's get him comfortable make sure your comer has good take off turn him loose and let him have FUN.!!

Not to disagree with what the other posters have said, but I would think the easier the kart is to drive the better it will be. He's not going to be comfortable in a kart that pushes a lot or is loose.
What kind of scales are you using and what software?

From the desk of Al Nunley
Comments compliments criticisms and questions always welcome.
If the data does not support the theory, get a new theory. (Al Nunley)