Lo206, small header bolts and gummy aluminum?

rkcarguy

Hey guys, a fellow racer and his son both have Lo206's at our track. The exhaust kept coming loose and it was pulling the treads out of the head on the forward bolt despite being safety wired. I helped him fix it because I had a tap and die set with me. I was surprised that it was only 6mm threads, we oversized the one hole to 8mmx1.25 and got a nice good set of threads in there(I've got 10 years machinist experience so I didn't nut job the new threads before you jump to that conclusion)....installed a 8mm allen bolt with a good 1/2 bite in the threads and the next race they pulled right out of the head again. The aluminum appears to be just butter soft for some reason, far worse than what I've seen in a clone.
Its the spec pipe and brace, others aren't having the same problems.....Bad batch of castings?

The fix that works best is a heli coil, some have headers coming loose and threads failing once we heli coil them all is well usually.

HMMM
Well we have about 40 LO 206's at Road America and i think i might have seen 2 of them have the bolts come loose all season.
Helicoil them with a 6 mm and they are good to go.

Yeah I get it that not every 206 has the problem, just a bummer because it cost Jim his points championship in light class. I found it odd that with new 8mm threads, almost 1/2" of engagement, it still wouldn't stay. It was a pretty hot on race day, probably our hottest day racing so far, maybe the header was expanding beyond normal and didn't have anywhere to grow?

The forward hole is blind, so not much I could do there with what I had. It was close to 2x the thread diameter...I really expected it to at least last the rest of the day if he kept an eye on it. The rear hole does goes all the way thru and allows for more threads.