new need lots of imput

robb83

Hello im new to karting im getting a complete setup 3 karts total i mainly plan on racing indoors and then if i like it going to race outdoors next year the karts all have flate heads what can i do to get even with the animal motors were running a 360 class with wka rules..not sure what is legal for the flat heads..the karts im getting is a 04 buller velocity 06 prowler and 01 buller i do belive the prowler has a dover racing motor he said that this kart is the fastes and most built of the three

If you are just starting out in karting.. you will need to get plenty of seat time before you get competitive. The fastest motor on the track won't do anything unless the kart and driver are in the same boat. On dirt the tire prep is important. Racing in doors or out doors doesn't change the level of competition. If you have never raced you will still be scratching your head. It is not as easy as it looks... even if you have races cars... or some other form or motor sports.

Watch what others are doing.. and then make your own judgments.. What works on kart number 56 probably wont' work on kart 37.. just a figure of speech... DO YOUR thing and be consistent with what you do.

You would be better off to use the flatheads to get some seat time and get a feel for racing karts, then when you get the hang of it, start finding ways to get more speed or even up the competition. You being a beginner against a field of experienced drivers, you likely won't be winning any races or running up front for awhile, try to find someone who does run up front and wins races and learn everything you can from them, offer to help them in the pits for a couple races before racing your own karts. Main things to focus on these days is chassis setup, tires and tire prep, and driving, the engine is the last part of the puzzle after you have everything else down.