Open stroker animal issue

spincycle

Had mine freshened, builder put it on dyno for a pull, let it warm up a bit, cracked throttle a couple times, then PING....pulled it back apart, the billet rod SPLIT down the middle starting with the wrist pin end, 2 vents on valve cover, 1 pc valve vent on front top of billet side cover and 2 additional vent tubes from back of billet side cover....told maybe source of failure was possibly due to "vapor lock"... anyone ever hear of this, or know of any other possible causes? It's back together, trying to gain knowledge to avoid it happening again....thx!

Rod damage sounds like it hydro locked. But correct me if I’m wrong, hydro locking and catastrophic failure only happens when you are initially starting the engine like on a dragster or sprint car when it’s not running right? I’m no expert on this, and have been wanting to ask this for awhile. Someone awhile back somewhere (I think it was Carlson) talked about animals and compression/fuel at TDC, breaking components from it and hydro/vapor locking. @CarlsonMotorsports

Last edited:
Hydro lock could be possible . Liquid fills cylinder till its enough volume to prevent it compressing and rolling over . Was it a new rod ?
Wap wap quick on the throttle may draw in enough fuel too do it .
Though I would be skeptical on that .
Especially with it already running .

Hydro lock would normally not happen if the engine is running.
YES it does happen in fuel dragsters, But they are pumping 4 gallons of fuel per second. If a cylinder misfires, yes it will blow the head and everything else off in a nitro fuel dragster.
My guess would be something else was the problem. Possibly ? a defect in the rod. But unlikely to be hydro lock.