Please help! Newbie Tilly 212 struggles

Zachfeen

Hi there,

My name is Zach and I just built my first engine to go into my first minibike project. I am a complete newbie with small engines but am fairly mechanically inclined (own two vintage mustangs).

This is where I am at.

Engine is a Tillotson 212 e start
EC Banzai 265 cam
Arc billet rod
Stock Tilly piston
Tillotson 212 “Outlaw head” - bought complete. 29/25 valves, light port and polish and shaved .050, 26lb EC springs and retainers
Stock thickness head gasket
Head studs torqued to 200 inch pounds
NR 1.2 rockers
NR 5.340 pushrods
ARC Billet flywheel- Timing is 32 degrees
Mikuni VM22 with 17.5 pilot and 140 main jet

The issue is I can not get the engine to idle correctly. With the fuel enrichment on (plunger in up position on VM22 right?) it will start fairly easily but surges pretty badly and does not idle smoothly. When I turn the enrichment off, I can keep the engine running by revving a bit but when I let it return to idle it slowly dies. Sometimes with the choke on, if I rev, I get a puff of white smoke and backfire through the carb

Spark Plug is a Autolite 1110x and when I pulled it it is not wet, but very black which makes me think very rich BUT my logic here, is if idling decently ok with enrichment on, wouldn’t it run better with it off if it was very rich?

What I have done so far-
- Tried every combination of idle screw from .5 turns out to like 7 turns out.
- checked timing, marks on crank and cam are lined up as they should be
- checked valve lash. Set to 3 thousandths on both intake and exhaust at TDC on combustion stroke
- took off carb and reseated on adapter to the block, the o-ring is perfectly centered
- replaced intake gasket and re-tightened
-went both 1 up and down on the needle adjustment, only affected when I got out of the idle circuit as expected
- checked slide was positioned correctly and it is