Predator 420 help

SourMash

First of all, Hello my name is Andy and I like whiskey. I do not race Karts but I do have a couple of predator engines on two mud motors (for duck hunting) and a couple on some Minibike projects. I am NOT a mechanic nor do I claim to be therefore I am open to what y'all can tell me. I have this 420 mud motor that I changed out the following parts on, removed the governor and added the billet adjustable timing flywheel for electric start, a billet connecting rod (but had to remove the oil sensor), a 280 cam (6k rpm), stiffer springs (not sure of the #), a robertsons torque tube with disc muffler and most recently a 34mm Mikuni carb. All of this was purchased from NR Racing as their stage 2/3 kit for the 420. When I originally ordered the kit I opted for the bored out Honda carb and I never was happy with the throttle response, it seemed to have a stall when I would go to w.o.t. So I ordered the above mentioned Mikuni. In the mean time, the engine would run fine (except for the initial stall) but I got to tinkering with the jet on the Honda carb, I drilled it to a #54 drill bit. I then took it to the water to try out and it would not get past about a 1/4 throttle before it would start spitting and stalling. I figured that I opened it up too much. Well, now I have this brand new Mikuni installed and the engine is doing the same thing. I have adjusted the timing from one end to the other and it doesn't seem to help. Can you guys give me some advice on what else I could check? I am absolutely lost now. Thanks in advance,

Andy

It still sounds like a jetting issue . Go back to the stock carb or NR bored carb and try Pilot .028" , Main .038" on gas . If your running "whiskey" try Pilot .034" and a Main .060" ..