Raceceiver's

My home track took a vote and are going to mandatory use of raceceiver's starting in January. I have no experience with them but support the use of them.

I have a couple questions:

1 - is there anything specific to look for, or lookout for, when buying one?

2 - A friend that races big cars said the success of the raceceiver program depends on how the track administrator uses it. His opinion is while the race is under the green flag the only time the track should talk is when a caution comes out. This way as soon as you hear the mic keyed up you know to lift and look for the reason for the caution. He has been to tracks where they try to communicate to drivers about lap traffic or something else race related so you potentially lose time reacting when a caution comes out. What he said made sense to me. I'd like to hear other opinions.

There for sure only as good as the person talking in them , the least amount of chatter the better, going green this lap, caution, Red Flag, shut down engines, line up clarifications under caution , single file or double file start, and repeat should be limit in my opinion, but a lot of tracks do communicate about to be lapped move over, and rough driving. In the wrong hands they can cause more confusion than there worth.

I agree with Ken
They worked well at my local track only when the person talking it o knew what they were talking about and saying but the moment they mess something up or get on a different page then the racers or guy on the track it becomes a mess. I have a raceiever for sale if you need one. I want 60 bucks shipped to your door. Sure a good deal when brand new they are 110

Limit communications under race conditions to cautions ONLY. Have them repeat it 3-5 times.

Then under caution it's pretty open to whatever they need you to do, your focus on them at that point. If not, it will be mass confusion and do more harm than good. That clears up a lot of things.