Setting toe with string.

DianSmokes

Basically i have a general idea of how this might be done, but I've no experience in doing it and just want to make sure my thought process is correct.
So I've recently broke out all my old karting stuff and decided to get it set up to run again. I originally put the karts away in 2006, and dismantled everything on them. Upon reassembly i noticed my toe was a little bit more than "off". I've set up string running parallel to the kart and marked the tires around the circumference. Set the string parallel to the two widest points on each rear tire. This would make sure my string is running parallel to my rear axle. Then on the right front tire i aligned it to run parallel with my string and the rear axle. On the left front i was told to run it toe out between 1/16"-1/8" would that just mean the difference between my measurement to the mark on the front side of the tire to the string should be between 1/16"-1/8" shorter than my mark from the rear side of the tire to the string? Or is my whole theory/method totally wrong here?

Just pull the string tight so that it touches both the back and front edge of the rear rim you are measuring off of. Then check the distance to the front rim (back and front edge) from the string. Your string should be perpendicular to the rear axle if done correctly.
Much debate over whether to square the right side of the car or the left side. That aside, pick one, and set the toe on the other.
BTW, this is MUCH easier accomplished with a 4 foot level (or longer) straight edge.
You also want to set this with the driver's weight in the kart (not with the kart up on a stand.)

-----
Thanks and God bless,
Brian Carlson
Carlson Racing Engines
Vector Cutz
www.CarlsonMotorsports.com
27 years of service to the karting industry
Linden, IN
765-339-4407
bcarlson@CarlsonMotorsports.com

Measure the distance between the leading edges and trailing edges of the front wheels. Difference is toe.