SMC red 2 disc

Just wondering what your opinions are on the SMC red 2disc clutch. I have one and really like it. I don't see many of them and was wondering if there was a reason for it.

I don't have that particular clutch, but we do have the black SMC's. You're right, you don't see very many of them. However we switched to them since they're easier to maintain and I don't feel like we've lost anything performance wise.

I think the bulley's and similar spinoffs are more popular, but that doesn't mean they're any better when properly setup.

I'm no clutch expert, but my experience is this:

poboyracer - it is more of a smooth, but strong engagement, although there is still a slight snap its not as drastic as bully. I could see this helping on low hp engines like predator especially?

Al - he is referring to how hard it engages. Some clutches engage hard like bully, some smoother, more gradual pull like smc vortex. Thought process is that hard engagement could temporarily waste power on lower hp engines, whereas a constant smooth engagement allows the engine to stay up on power.

My opinion is both designs work and have won at the highest level, just depends what you, your motor builder, parts availability to which is the best choice.

Al - he is referring to how hard it engages. Some clutches engage hard like bully, some smoother, more gradual pull like smc vortex. Thought process is that hard engagement could temporarily waste power on lower hp engines, whereas a constant smooth engagement allows the engine to stay up on power.
Thank you for the try, but I still have questions. Define engagement? My definition of engagement is when the shoes first contact the drum and the kart starts moving. From your explanation, I'm thinking (and I could be wrong) you mean when the shoes stop slipping and the clutch locks up.