Sprocket and clutch alignment issue

cup1981

OK, I was a car mechanic, so kart mechanics are new to me lol. So, I am installing a Ducar 211cc engine into a cadet cart, but the sprocket is a good 6-8" too far from the clutch (see image). I thought I could just move the sprocket, but it's keyed and there is no key on the part of the axle I need to move it to.

What on the world did I do wrong or do I need to swap the axle or find a different rear sprocket?

Attachments

• 1000017068.jpg
    1000017068.jpg
    106.8 KB · Views: 127
Replace the axle or take it to a machine shop and get it keyed. Also, you can run the clutch the way it is but most of us run it inboard, (chain to the inside).

Replace the axle or take it to a machine shop and get it keyed. Also, you can run the clutch the way it is but most of us run it inboard, (chain to the inside).
Oh, so I should flip the clutch too? I was wondering about that. I have to take it to a kart shop for a few adjustments, so I will see if they can modify the axle for me too. Thanks!

If I were to replace the axle, what would the proper axle be called that has the key inside the bearing cassettes? I have searched and can't seem to find the right one.

First thing . Take the axle out move the hub inside the bearing , where your going too need it . Put bearing back on . See how things are going to fit . From the picture the cross bar looks like it's going too be in the way .
That kart. Was originally a two stroke chassis . There may be more modifications ahead .

First thing . Take the axle out move the hub inside the bearing , where your going too need it . Put bearing back on . See how things are going to fit . From the picture the cross bar looks like it's going too be in the way .
That kart. Was originally a two stroke chassis . There may be more modifications ahead .