Stock animal

Sprintcarfreak

I'm new to karting, I need a engine to run in jr1.everyone at our track runs animals. Would a stock animal strait from briggs be enough? Or do I have to buy a stock one and take it to a engine builder? Any comments would be helpful thanks

For a JR 1, I don't see why you couldn't buy one from Briggs, get it race ready and be competitive with it as long as it meets the rules, tires would be a bigger gain for the restricted classes I believe

Thanks w5r,I'm still trying to figure all this stuff out! My daughter's first race is in two weeks. What all would it take to make it race ready? At our track we can only run burris tires and I'm still trying to figure out size and compound, any suggestions?

Thanks w5r,I'm still trying to figure all this stuff out! My daughter's first race is in two weeks. What all would it take to make it race ready? At our track we can only run burris tires and I'm still trying to figure out size and compound, any suggestions?

Need to talk with someone at your track about tires, most run 33's
Check with your local parts guy you wont save much if any money ordering from someone that doesnt know the tracks you run, but the knowledge you may gain from buying from a local guy until you get your feet wet will help shorten the learning curve
8.10 RF on 10 in wide by 6 in wheel
8.10 RR on same rim as RF
6.00 LR on 8.50 in by 6 in rim
6.00 LF on 6 by 6 rim

For a JR 1, I don't see why you couldn't buy one from Briggs, get it race ready and be competitive with it as long as it meets the rules, tires would be a bigger gain for the restricted classes I believe

I'm not sure about building a jr1 animal, our restricted classes use clones here and its different than the animals. You'll need to get a rule book to see what you can and cant do

I would get with a local engine builder. having one built will take some of the pressure off you so you can consentrate on chassis tuning and working with your new diver.