Tire Mounting

Fab54

Uggg,

I am a beginner. Just got 4 Vega MBS tires. Put the 8" tire on the 10" rim. That was no easy feat. Threw the tire band on. Sprayed Windex all over rim/tire bead. Inflated to 60 pounds. Would not pop the beads. Man those tires are hard. Anyone have any tricks (besides heating the tire)? :mad:

You will either have to buy or borrow a tire band. This is a must for safety and will also keep the tire from stretching to much while inflating. More than likely you will need more psi to seat the tire, I would guess around 80 to 90 psi.

He just said he used a tire band. Track tac makes something for mounting, supposed to be really slick. Used anything from soap and water, wd40, and armor all. Sometimes left rears are tough, and have to be flipped and will mount right up. In the winter heating up the tire makes a big difference. Usually sit them in the house until ready to mount them up.

Uggg,

I am a beginner. Just got 4 Vega MBS tires. Put the 8" tire on the 10" rim. That was no easy feat. Threw the tire band on. Sprayed Windex all over rim/tire bead. Inflated to 60 pounds. Would not pop the beads. Man those tires are hard. Anyone have any tricks (besides heating the tire)? :mad:

You will either have to buy or borrow a tire band. This is a must for safety and will also keep the tire from stretching to much while inflating. More than likely you will need more psi to seat the tire, I would guess around 80 to 90 psi.

He did put it in a tire band.... but yes it will take more than 60lbs to seat them

Ok I drove down to NAPA and got a gallon of RUGLYDE. Way more slippery than windex. This allowed me to get one side to pop all the way but the other side stops a half inch short of the rim edge. The rims/tires are brand new. Yes I am using a tire band and was up to 90 psi. This is a royal pain.