turning lo206 into a torch. how to stop.

OK i have never gotten this 206 to run right. As far as the carb is concerned. Had it close i think. At time. But anyway. I got my lo206 out the other day. And took the exhaust pipe off. To clean the port of all the black. And when I got it off I was like I wonder what it sounds like with no pipe and no muffler. So I started it and I had the choke on and at an idle I had like an inch of flame about every time the spark would hit. So I turned choke off and it got worst. Called Brian and Carlson motorsports. He said maybe carb was plugged. Took it compmetly apart cleaned it. Put it back on. Started it same thing. So I started playing with the idle screw and air screw. And no matter what I do it never goes away. Tried moving needle from middle notch up 1 so now its second from the top. Engine is only about 10 races old. Any idea where to start. Or is this normal. I wish I could post video.

If you have the exhaust pipe off and it is shooting flames that is perfectly normal. You could not ever get it to stop doing this, in some situations if you ran with the pipe and no silencer you would see flame at the end of the pipe.

O thank god. I was all freaked out. I borrowed a friends tach. To try and tune it. Lol what notch do u think I should b on? Small tracks 1162 to 12 60 gears. Pretty flat. I was old middle but my exhaust almost has an oily texture to it. Its not just normal black soot. Its wetish. If that makes sense

But you are tuning the engine to no pipe, where they generally do not work properly. Put the pipe on and it will require a totally different tune. You should always tune the engine as it wuill be ran.

Might be best to put the needle in second hole from the top .
Install carb and pipe .
then leave it alone.

Jumbo I have never it it yo run right. This is the first time I have taken the exhaust off it since I bought it. And I have it on the second notch from the top. And float at 860