Where to start

Jblundon

Where do you start for a set up for a kart switching it from dirt to asphalt I am new to racing and have no idea where to start

Typically start by changing tires. Chassis adjustments will depend a lot on what type of dirt track you ran on previously. A real hard, grippy track you may not need to make many changes. Odds are you will need more left.

also more air pressure. Asphalt tires range from 8 to 16 pounds pressure. 10-12 is a typical place to start.

Where do you start for a set up for a kart switching it from dirt to asphalt I am new to racing and have no idea where to start

Camber/caster will be different. Thin wall axle, more nose, less left, same cross, small lr wheel (same as LF on dirt). What tires you plan on running ? We mainly run 6-8 left sides 8-10 rights.

Gary10 is right...correct tires, 10/12 psi (much more than dirt), your dirt set up may be super close, probably a little loose. I've had 2 karts from Capital that didn't require much at all to run KGS after I bought them

BTW-
we run small left side tires/ wheels front and rear rather than the staggered sizes on the left, so you might be looking at a wheel purchase too

Spotteddawg - any recommendations on camber/caster/toe in or out for KGS? I just bought my son a jr champ kart to run out there from Mr. and Mrs. Pool, and I have no clue as to how to set this thing up. I have never done anything like this before so karting is all brand new. Any help is greatly appreciated.

i BRIEFLY ran a champ there, all flat karts now, and set it up like this:
52% left, 46% nose, 54% cross
Caster -7 L -11R, Camber .5 L -2.25 R
1/16 toe out
Stagger 1 1/2 " front, 3/4" rear
Yellow Vegas 10 psi L, 12 psi R
Have fun with it! See you out there!

Thank you!! I think I understand everything except "stagger". What do you mean by stagger?