Why did my alcohol fail?

mrpoose

Is it water in my tank? Bought an aluminum tank in July for my champ kart. I have left the tank with alcohol in it between races. I have a check valve in the vent hose for the tank from the tank cap. I put duct tape on the end of the hose when I get home after the races. The kart is always on the stand except to race and when I haul it in the back of my truck. My barn is not climate controlled. The distilled water test turned cloudy after the race on Saturday. Unless I have been sabotaged, very unlikely, I can't think of anything else. I'm a rookie, so my mistakes are many. Only the spout of the plastic fuel can has touched the inside of the tank. I don't want this to happen again. Thanks!

Did at any time you use your oil funnel to transfer the fuel , maybe when you poured the fuel from the jug you got from the vendor to your own fuel can ?

Any tank will create it's own weather conditions with temperature change. Alcohol is hygroscopic (will absorb/mix with water). Short story. Temperature change and sweating in the tank loaded your alcohol with water. Hard to stop. You can't get the air out of the tank.
The aluminum tank didn't help since metal is more responsive to temp changes. We've all gotten bad alcohol from a drum kept outside in the elements. Drain, leave open and dry, fill at race time.......