Young adults

krtrcn

I work as a maintenance mechanic at a small company.
We have several 19 to 23 year olds. I can't believe the amount of things that these kids don't know about being an adult.
We have 3 that don't have a driver's license, and depend on a family member that also works here to provide transportation to and from work.
Two of them depends on mommy not only for transportation, to buy there dinner, clothes, and anything else they need.
None of them came read an analog clock, can't do simple math, and to make matters worse have no desire to better themselves.

I'm glad at 59 years old, I was taught at a young age to take care of myself, to have respect, and to respect the ones who made it possible to enjoy what I have.

I stop and think of this is what id have to depend on to protect this country, my fat Butt will rather do it myself.

Im glad my son's are older and are productive members of society, but lord help us with some of these younger ones.

We talk about this all the time. I had to let a young lady go last fall. She worked for me while she went to college and was planning on promoting her when she graduated.

After graduation she never progressed any. I talked to her several times about taking on more responsibility so she could earn more and the last conversation we had was she needed a $10/hour raise (go to $25 from $15) and only wanted to work Monday thru Thursday.

2 thoughts

1st this prevailing attitude makes it very easy for a motivated individual in that age bracket to succeed. My son was known in multiple TSC stores by managers and patrons because he stayed busy- found something to do. He worked at a level I would have expected as normal, but they seen it as amazing. He has since finished school and moved on and is doing well in his profession.