Another Gearing question

jr72

I ran last weekend at our local little paper clip bull ring. The track is advertised as an 1/8 but tight turns. I usually only lift briefly in the corner. Any way, I got my butt handed to me by a guy that said he was on an 11-63 (572). My question is, I only have a 10 tooth arena clutch so could I run a 58 rear and be close to his? I have never tried anything that small. I was on a 10-64 last week and he walked away from me out of the corners and down the straights. I'm still new at this gear game and trying to figure it out.

Track has to be lot smaller than an 1/8th, step off the groove one full stride is 3 ft see if it's anywhere close to 660 lf, 220 full strides, If indeed it is your not even in the same zip code on gearing, and neither is he even though he handed you your tail.

now to answer just your question yes a 10-58 would be a lot closer than a 10-64, actually to match his 11-63 you need a 10-59, with that 10-64 you have to be gear bound, when you step it off even if it's only 200 steps in the groove and indeed you only burp it briefly put atleast a 12 driver on it with that 64 you have and hand him his tail.

Gearing isn't everything. Don't chase a gear number just of the sake of turning and RPM your builder said to turn. His RPM is for sure a number relying on a properly handling kart. Tune the chassis for more RPM and then before qualifying add teeth or drop as needed. Get as much out of the chassis you can before chasing a gear RPM.

Straight speed is dependent on how the kart exits the corner leading on to the straight... Maybe you needed some chassis tuning for corner exit?