block choices

Evanguy

I'm new to these motors but not new to build motors, so I'm just learning the in's and out's of these motors

i have a 212 block from princess auto, it looks like a predator block but uses all Honda/clone internals

so all the internals I've bought are for Honda/clones so I put it in this section

I'm just wondering about block selection since I'm doing a pretty intense build

my options for blocks in my price range are basic 70mm predator block, oem Honda block bored to 70mm or a Tillotson 212R 70mm block

i believe the Tillotson would be the best but OEM Honda could very well work too

From my understanding the tillotson block is supposed to be a better block of the 3. What are you using the engine for? If racing you may want to look at your local tracks rules.

Tillotson is a great braced block but very soft . Jet Payne sources a block from China that is much harder materiel similar to the wildcat block ec sells . Honda is another great block . I've broke several of the blocks mentioned but have never broke a honda.

Thanks for the replies. It gives me lots more to read about. I plan to turn high rpm and lots of power.

I'm building a drift cart with a load of rpm range to work with once I'm out crooked. I'm not competing and only driving it for fun on my own.

I'm thinking about doing a build thread on the motor but I don't see many of them on here so I'm not sure if that's something you guys are interested in or is this site more of a karing site opposed to engine building

I'm currently machining and building a DUCAR 265cc engine. It's taking a little time because I'm also building the jigs to machine the parts. The engine will be fully tuned EFI using a speeduino, It's to be mounted on a SOLO go kart chassis, these normally take a Rotax.

https://www.diygokarts.com/communit...uild-with-full-efi-control-gx200-clone.48159/