Caster Blocks

SnairB

I have a castor block that is 12 degrees. What part of the block is measured to give 12 degrees?
Is the bottom of the block tilted 12 degrees up, above horizontal?
Also, if I need to decrease castor, is 12 degrees as low as I can go?
In keeping with the manufacturers recommendation I need 8 degrees castor on my LF, but I have a 12 degree block on my LF. (I also have a 12 degree block on my RF.)

Looking at the front of the kart, any slant of the top of the kingpin to the center of the kart is called camber. Looking from the side of the kart, any slanting of the top of the kingpin to the rear of the kart is called caster.

Now the spindle holder, maybe slanted in both directions also, but it is the kingpin slanting where the two measurements are taken. You can do it both ways, to a degree I suppose, but it's the slant of the kingpin that's the important thing.

I am, of course, assuming that you know what the kingpin is. If you don't, it's the bolt that holds the spindle on the kart.

Caster block that is 12 degrees are designed to work with a spindle that is 12 degrees. Asphalt spindles are 5 degrees to be used with a corosponding 5 degree spindle.
Where that angle is I do not know, like a satellite dish at 32 no where can I find a spot that is 32 degrees.
Castor is not limited by the block build Angle.
Should be able to get near 4 and up to maybe 14

So flattop, the spindle degree angle should correspond with the castor block degree angle?
If my castor block is 12*'s then my spindle should be 12*'s?
FYI: this is on a 09 Voodoo run on a dirt oval. Trick Olimpic, the manufacturer, recommends 8-9*'s castor on the LF and 11-12*'s on the RF.

That is correct. Top of the L block should have some marks that correspond to the caster setting. set it on 8 and the right on 11. You can use a angle gauge on the front face of the L block where it attaches to the chassis. sometimes.
The marks are the best bet method.
Camber will need to be set with a gauge.