Clone Racing Size and Future Growth?

InventorKart

Hello,

My name is Dave and I've spent the past couple months working on a prototype for a product that I believe will greatly improve a key safety aspect for clone racing karts. I am an automotive engineer and I came up with the idea after watching my nephew race a few times at the local track, and once my patent is processed I will work to bring this product to the market.

I am still early in the planning phase for manufacturing and I'd like to get a better understanding of the actual size of sanctioned clone racing in the US. I understand that the AKRA and the WKA are the two largest leagues for clone racing but does anyone have an estimate for the actual size of these leagues in terms of active members? Any numbers will help at this point, I figured I would ask you guys the experts for a better understanding of the potential market. Also, what about international clone racing...has it caught on yet?

Thanks in advance for the help!

It would not surprise me one bit if you knew the true numbers of all clone racers out there, that only 10% are either AKRA or WKA members.

Ok thanks guys I guess I should rephrase...I'm looking for a rough estimate for the number of active racers in the US that compete in the clone class of go kart racing, regardless of league membership or affiliation.

Also the product is a part that would be specific to only the GX200/clone engines. That being said, if the product does well it could be adapted to other engine types in the future and would have the same benefits.

Thanks again guys,
Dave

I would start by contacting the AKRA, WKA, IKF, USKRA , Burris and SPG and so on to get their numbers on their membership. Its unlikely anybody could give you an accurate number per state. They also race these engines in Australia andCanada.