Inertia dyno run duration?

knighty

Hi Guys - I have been using a friends Inertia dyno for about 2 years and the dyno acceleration from the measured period of 3000 to 6200rpm is around 6.8 to 7.5 seconds for a healthy engine.......I am measuring 7hp GX160's, max revs are 6600rpm.

I have just commissioned my own Dyno in my garage, its a SportDevices item, using an SP1 DAQ using the older V3.4 software, the acceleration duration is a similar time, around 6-7 seconds, as a guide the steel flywheel is about 13 inches diameter and about 5 inches wide, the inertia is 1.4Kg.M^2......I have been watching some youtube dyno runs and you guys in the states appear to be using huge diameter flywheels, and the dyno run is taking about 15 seconds or so, about double the time duration of what I have been doing.

I wanted to ask, is there a perceived benefit of making the dyno run a longer duration, does it perhaps give a better data for the torque and power calculations?

IMO the best data would be to mimic as close to possible the time the motor will be accelerating in real use. Is it a 10 second drag racer or a 30 second road racer?
I don't think they would dyno a 4 second drag car for a 12 second run in order to gather info on how it's going to race.

yup, I agree, hence I'm inclined to stick to what I'm doing, but I though i might be missing a trick........we race on circuits with 12 corners or so, very stop-start ish......the revs range from 2800 to 6500rpm

a quick duration will show HP created by low rotational weight. Think low mass flywheels. A long duration pull will show true HP without the effects of a low mass flywheel.