Dirt to asphalt oval

cbuch

Ok guys. Looking for any input or help. My son & I have 2 years experience on dirt ovals. We are kicking around the idea of trying some asphalt oval in 2016. Wanted to get an idea of what we're getting into. Is it as easy as buying a couple sets of tires & some chassis changes & go race? Sounds like yellow Vegas are the tire of choice, if open tire rule. I believe I read 6" tire & rims on left side , & 10" tire & rims the right side. Also, we live in northwest Ohio. If you know of tracks within a couple hours, I would like names of tracks & any info you could tell me on the track. Oh & we are running the LO206. Thanks in advance for any help.

sounds like your on the right track. i cant give u a list of tracks because im not from Ohio. but most asphalt tracks are running clones (box stock) but im sure someone there would have an animal class . a very hard and dry daytime set up should get u in the ball park set up wise. also there are two yellow vegas one for dirt and one for asphalt. do not use the dirt yellow. it will chew the tires up. if u want to the pink maxxis can work after being rolled with inside and scuffed but is not ideal. from what ive seen bridgestone and burris are also good choices. if allowed use a nonaggressive tire prep to keep the tires conditioned. . u dont want to drop the compound too much just a couple points. finally a warning to the driver. the gforces u will feel are much stronger then any dirt track and the kart will respond to changes differnty then on dirt. good luck with your venture